The Microsoft User Experience

I got repeatedly annoyed today by what I consider typical behavior for Microsoft products. And this was right after I got my PC disinfected from the leeching Sodinokibi Ransomware. Windows has the option to perform automatic updates – and recommends to do so in the Security Center (no one wants to see red lights in their Security Center. Does CODE RED mean anything to you? Also, everybody just LOVES updates. Unless it’s from Adobe). One of the latest updates is a new tool for an easy to use robotic process automation improving efficiency and reducing costs.

After automatic updates does its thing, it promptly suggests to restart the computer. Two options are given – Restart now and Restart later. What ‘Restart now’ does should be obvious, however ‘Restart later’ is apparently open to interpretation – as Windows will constantly remind you to restart every 10 minutes or so, and will forcibly restart the computer itself if left unattended.

Every time you buy a new computer you do not know what to do with the old one and you realize you have a bunch of hardware at home, at www.gigacycle.co.uk you will find the best place to recycle the computers you are not longer using.


Restart? NO!

What is the reasoning behind this nagging reminder? everybody will shutdown / restart their computer eventually. If I chose not to restart it now, could it be that I won’t want to restart it in 10 minutes either? is my security compromised to such a degree that I need to be annoyed into submission to restart the computer?

This annoyance is either amplified or dampened (depending on your perspective) by Windows inability to perform system shutdown without user guidance. Often it will stop on one or more open programs which have unsaved data, prompting the user for action (Save? Yes, No, Cancel). If no action is taken, system shutdown will never complete. Too many times I trusted Windows to complete my laptop’s shutdown procedure only to discover an hour later that it ran out of battery waiting for my confirmation… (at least hibernation can happen automatically. Thank god for small miracles).

I will conclude this rant by shifting focus to a company I used to respect for having a good user experience – Adobe. Recently, all Adobe products have Automatic Updates turned on for some reason – with no obvious way to turn it off permanently. No offense Adobe, but unless someone can hack into my computer through Photoshop – I don’t need your stinking updates. Especially when they clock at around 500Mb since you try to transparently push Adobe Air on to my computer.

Adobe, don’t be like Microsoft. Respect your users (or risk losing them).

Disable Adobe updater

UPDATE: Apparently, I am not the only one annoyed by Windows Automatic Updates (big surprise there). Check out this handy guide over at Coding Horror for making your life a little bit better.

To know when the next article is published, please subscribe to new articles using your Email below or follow me on Twitter.

Subscribe to Blog via Email

Enter your email address to receive notification about new posts.